MAY 25–JUNE 10, 2017
Leonard Slatkin, jury chairman


Beverley Taylor Smith Award for the Best Performance of a New Work: Daniel Hsu ($5,000)
Steven De Groote Memorial Award for the Best Performance of Chamber Music: Daniel Hsu ($6,000)
John Giordano Jury Chairman Discretionary Award: Dasol Kim ($4,000)
Raymond E. Buck Jury Discretionary Award: Leonardo Pierdemenico ($4,000)
Jury Discretionary Award: Tony Yike Yang ($4,000)
Audience Award: Rachel Cheung ($2,500)


YEKWON SUNWOO  Since his Cliburn win, the Korean pianist has been hailed for his “ravishing pianism… a genuine poetic sensibility” (Chicago Tribune) for performances in major venues across three continents. He has worked with such conductors as Valery Gergiev, Donald Runnicles, Leonard Slatkin, and Sascha Goetzel, while also maintaining a robust solo and chamber recital schedule. He has been featured on the cover of Forbes Korea (the youngest and only classical musician on its 2018 power leaders list) and Playbill magazines.

KENNY BROBERG  Since claiming the silver medal, Kenny has built a reputation for fresh interpretations complemented by a natural, honest stage presence. Since his Cliburn triumph, performance highlights include engagements with the Royal Philharmonic, Minnesota, and Montreal Symphony Orchestras, working with such esteemed conductors as John Storgårds and Kent Nagano, and in recitals across North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia.

DANIEL HSU Increasingly recognized for his easy virtuosity and charismatic musicianship, the bronze medalist continues to receive accolades in performances across the United States. A favorite in Japan, he also makes annual tours in that country, and performs throughout Europe with Curtis-on-Tour. Daniel graduates from Curtis this spring, where he has been a student since age 10. A tech whiz, he also programs for Apple’s Shortcuts app on the side—the rebranded version of the Workflow app he helped develop, which won the 2015 Apple Design Award and was acquired by the tech giant in 2017.

RACHEL CHEUNG  Since her Cliburn appearance, the Hong Kong native has collaborated with the Hong Kong Philharmonic, Paris Chamber, and Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestras, both play/directing and working with esteemed conductors Jaap van Zweden, Gábor Takács-Nagy, and others. Recital engagements have brought her to Europe, Asia, Mexico, and the United States, and she has been featured as artist-in-residence for RTHK Radio 4.

YURY FAVORIN  Since the Cliburn, the Russian finalist has returned to North America for concerts with the Seattle and Montreal Symphony Orchestras and Cliburn Festival. His performances throughout Europe and Russia have been acclaimed for musical intelligence and impeccable virtuosity. A proponent of contemporary music, Yury formed the ensemble ERROR 404 devoted to free improvisatory music, and enjoys working with composers to premier new work. He is on faculty of the Moscow Conservatory.

GEORGY TCHAIDZE  The Russian pianist maintains a busy concert schedule as recitalist, soloist, and chamber musician. He enjoys a reputation as a sensitive, elegant artist across Asia, North America, and Europe, highlighted by concerts in Amsterdam’s Concergebouw, Berlin’s Konzerthaus, the National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing, and Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall.


Leonard Slatkin, chairman (United States)
Arnaldo Cohen (Brazil)
Christopher Elton (United Kingdom)
Marc-André Hamelin (Canada)
Joseph Kalichstein (Israel/United States)
Mari Kodama (Japan)
Anne-Marie McDermott (United States)
Erik T. Tawaststjerna (Finland)
Alexander Toradze (Georgia/United States)


Conductors: Nicholas McGegan (Semifinal Round), Leonard Slatkin (Final Round)
Chamber Music: Brentano String Quartet
Orchestra: Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra
Commissioned Work: Marc-André Hamelin, Toccata on “L’homme armé”