MAY 22–JUNE 7, 2009


Beverley Taylor Smith Award for the Best Performance of a New Work: Nobuyuki Tsujii ($5,000)
Steven De Groote Memorial Award for Best Performances of Chamber Music: Evgeni Bozhanov and Yeol eum Son ($3,000 each)
John Giordano Jury Chairman Discretionary Award: Alessandro Deljavan ($4,000)
Raymond E. Buck Jury Discretionary Award*: Lukáš Vondrácek ($4,000)
Jury Discretionary Award: Eduard Kunz ($4,000)
Internet Audience Award: Mariangela Vacatello


NOBUYUKI TSUJII  The Japanese pianist rocketed to celebrity status when he was named co-winner of the Cliburn gold medal. He maintains a busy concert schedule throughout Asia, Europe, and the United States, with recent highlights including his debut with the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra under Valery Gergiev and a debut recital at Wigmore Hall. Mr. Tsujii has recorded several best-selling albums for Avex Classics.

HAOCHEN ZHANG  The Chinese co-gold medalist continues to perform to acclaim throughout Asia, Europe, and the United States, with recent highlights including a new recital CD on BIS with works of Schumann, Brahms, Janácek, and Liszt; a return engagement with the Philadelphia Orchestra; and a tour of Europe with the Hangzhou Philharmonic Orchestra. Mr. Zhang was recently announced as the only pianist among the four 2017 Avery Fisher Career Grant recipients.

YEOL EUM SON  The South Korean followed her silver-medal win at the Cliburn with the silver at the Tchaikovsky Competition in 2011. Active as a chamber musician, recitalist, and soloist worldwide, she also is a writer with a column in Korea’s most widely read newspaper and a book of essays published in 2015.

EVGENI BOZHANOV  The native of Bulgaria has built a reputation as a risk-taking, original pianist. His 2017–2018 concert highlights will include recitals across Europe, an appearance at the Royal Festival Hall in London, and the Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 with the Houston Symphony Orchestra. 

MARIANGELA VACATELLO  The Italian finalist and Internet Audience Prize winner released an all-Liszt recording in 2011, and an all-Debussy recording in 2012, both on the Brilliant Classics label. She lives in Umbria and is a piano professor at the Istituto Superiore di Studi Musicali “G. Briccialdi” in Terni.

DI WU  Highlights of the Chinese finalist’s recent tours include her first appearances in Minsk and Moscow; a visit to Mexico for three concerts; and 20 concerts in Asia, during which she played the Rachmaninoff Second and Grieg concertos in major cities such as Tokyo, Osaka, Seoul, and Taipei. 


John Giordano, chairman (United States)
Marcello Abbado (Italy)
Dmitri Alexeev (Russia)
Hung-Kuan Chen (United States)
Michel Beroff (France)
Richard Dyer (United States)
Joseph Kalichstein (Israel)
Yoheved Kaplinsky (Israel)
Jürgen Meyer-Josten (Germany)
Menahem Pressler (United States)
Tadeusz Strugała (Poland)


Conductor: James Conlon
Chamber Music: Takács Quartet
Orchestra: Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra
American Composers Invitational Grand Prize: Mason Bates ($5,000)
American Composers Invitational New Works: Mason Bates, White Lies for Lomax; Derek Bermel, Turning; Daron Hagen, Suite for Piano; John Musto, Improvisation & Fugue
Master of Ceremonies: Fred Child
Official Artwork:  Ivan Chermayeff, incorporating Treble Clefs by Josef Albers, 1932. Courtesy of the Josef and Anni Albers Foundation.
Documentary: A Surprise in Texas: The Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, directed by Peter Rosen