June 17, 2023

After 12 days of thrilling competition at Caruth Auditorium at SMU and this afternoon’s Final Round Concert with the Dallas Symphony Orchestra and conductor Valentina Peleggi at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center, the winners of the 2023 Cliburn International Junior Piano Competition and Festival were announced on Saturday evening.

The Winners

 Bernice Gressman Meyerson First Prize
cash award of $15,000
Seokyoung Hong 홍석영, 15, South Korea

Shirley Cox McIntyre Second Prize
cash award of $10,000
Yifan Wu 吴一凡, 14, China

The Horchow Family Third Prize
cash award of $5,000
Jan Schulmeister, 16, Czechia

Each finalist will also receive $2,500 scholarships that must be spent toward furthering their musical advancement.


Other Awards

Audience Award
cash award of $500

Seokyoung Hong 홍석영, 15, South Korea

cash awards of $2,500 each

Zihan Jin 金子涵, 14, China
Modan Oyama 大山桃暖, 17, Japan
Zhonghua Wei 魏中华, 14, China

Online viewership for the 2023 Cliburn Junior webcast topped 1.2 million views in 122 Countries, nearly doubling the 2019 Cliburn Junior total of 650,000 views.