Photo by Ralph Lauer/The Cliburn


Fifteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition
May 25-June 10, 2017
Bass Performance Hall
Fort Worth, Texas USA

For biographies, please click HERE.

  • Leonard Slatkin, jury chairman (United States)
  • Arnaldo Cohen (Brazil)
  • Jean-Philippe Collard (France)
  • Christopher Elton (United Kingdom)
  • Marc-André Hamelin (Canada)
  • Joseph Kalichstein (Israel / United States)
  • Mari Kodama (Japan)
  • Anne-Marie McDermott (United States)
  • Erik T. Tawaststjerna (Finland)
  • Alexander Toradze (United States / Georgia)

For biographies, please see below or click HERE.

  • Dmitri Alexeev (Russia)
  • Michel Beroff (France)
  • Janina Fialkowska (Poland/Canada)
  • James Parker (Canada)
  • Pamela Mia Paul (United States)

In addition to serving on the jury, renowned pianist and composer Marc-André Hamelin has been commissioned to compose a new work for the 2017 Cliburn Competition, to be performed by all 30 competitors. This marks the first time that the composer of the commissioned work will also serve on the jury. Details on the piece will be released in early 2017, and competitors will receive it no later than March 25, 2017.

For biographies, please see below or click HERE.

  • Leonard Slatkin, conductor – Final Round
  • Nicholas McGegan, conductor – Semifinal Round
  • Brentano String Quartet – Final Round
  • Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra – Semifinal and Final Rounds

“We are pleased to welcome back Maestro Leonard Slatkin and the Brentano String Quartet to the Cliburn Competition after their successful collaborations with our competitors in 2013,” said Jacques Marquis, Cliburn president and CEO, “as well as the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, which has performed in every Cliburn Competition since the beginning. With the addition of the Mozart concerto in the Semifinal Round, the 2017 Competition gives us the opportunity to add another prominent artistic collaborator: one of the world’s top Mozart conductors, Nicholas McGegan.”

October 15, 2015           Applications Online
October 13, 2016           Applications Due
December 13, 2016       Screening Auditions Schedule Announced
March 7, 2017                 Competitors Announced
May 25–June 10, 2017    Fifteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition


Screening Auditions (January / February 2017)
Approximately 125 applicants perform 40-minute recitals in Shanghai, Moscow, Hanover, Budapest, London, New York, Fort Worth

Preliminary Round (May 25–28, 2017)
30 competitors perform a 45-minute recital, to include commissioned work of 4-6 minutes by Marc-André Hamelin

Quarterfinal Round (May 29–30, 2017)
20 competitors perform a 45-minute recital

Semifinal Round (June 1–5, 2017): 12 competitors in two phases
I. Mozart concerto to be selected from a list with FWSO and conductor Nicholas McGegan
II. 60-minute recital

Final Round (June 7–10, 2017): 6 competitors in two phases
I. Piano quintet selected from a list with Brentano String Quartet
II. Concerto with FWSO and Leonard Slatkin

“We’re proud to announce the people and the structure that will define the next Cliburn Competition,” said Jacques Marquis. “The jury and the artistic collaborators represent some of the finest voices in classical music today—many of whom are new to the Cliburn family. It is our privilege to have them lend their wisdom and talent to the Competition. Additionally, we have made some tweaks to the Competition schedule. Forward momentum for this world class organization means constantly engaging inspired people from various realms of the music world, as well as keeping an eye on how we can improve any processes. We believe we are putting in place the right pieces to create a fantastic 2017 Competition.”