“This is playing that sorts out the men from the boys. I doubt if there is more than a handful of violinists alive who can match Kavakos…” — Gramophone

Leonidas Kavakos is recognized around the world as a violinist and artist of rare quality; the Seattle Times ranked him “among the greatest instrumentalists of our time.” Early major competition wins (Sibelius, Paganini, and Naumburg) propelled him to a notable career working with the greatest orchestras and conductors. He is artist-in-residence at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Vienna Musikverein; he tours with Yuja Wang (including a stop this season at Carnegie Hall), and Yo-Yo Ma and Emanuel Ax; and he returns to Cliburn Concerts with extraordinary pianist Enrico Pace. The duo’s performances “sing and dance with youthful vigour, paying due homage to the music’s classical roots” (BBC Music Magazine).


BEETHOVEN   Violin Sonata No. 4 in A Minor, op. 23

PROKOFIEV   Violin Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, op. 80

— intermission —

BARTÓK   Violin Rhapsody No. 1

ENESCU   Violin Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, op. 25